Return to Headlines

Monomoy student Kathryn Nash honored with scholarship to Mass Maritime Academy at ASLP commencement

Monomoy student Kathryn Nash awarded scholarship to Mass Maritime Academy at ASLP commencement Each year, Monomoy Regional School District students participate in the Advanced Studies & Leadership Program at Massachusetts Maritime Academy. The three-week summer camp, held in July by the Cape Cod Collaborative for rising 8th and 9th graders, brings together the best and brightest students from schools around the region. ASLP provides a college-like residential experience that emphasizes leadership and development, and offers project-oriented instruction in science, technology, engineering, math, and the humanities for high-achieving students from the Cape Cod Collaborative member districts. Students participate in exciting hands-on study including demonstrations and interactive work with world-class technology and state-of-the-art science labs.

Each summer, one female and one male student attending the 3-week ASLP residential program at Mass Maritime Academy are selected as recipients of a scholarship to MMA. At the ASLP Commencement Ceremony held on July 26, 2019, at MMA, Monomoy student Kathryn Nash was awarded a 4-year Massachusetts Maritime Academy full tuition scholarship.  

Students were selected to receive this award from a group of 210 high-achieving students who attended ASLP 2019. The scholarships were awarded to the two students for displaying  outstanding leadership qualities during the program. Some 35 staff, including resident assistants, counselors, nurses, and administrators, provided input on which students would receive this scholarship award.

The Monomoy students who participated in ASLP 2019 include Alexis Arruda, Sienna Azure, Kaeleigh Bourgea, Abigail Considine, Molly Funk, Samantha Goode, Jordan MacRoberts, Kathryn Nash, Talia Tambolleo Perez, Jack Raye, Sally Watson, and Isaiah Woodland.

Congratulations to Kathryn on this honor, and to all of the Monomoy students who participated in ASLP 2019!

Photo caption: MMA CDR Stephen Kelleher, left, and MMA Vice President Captain Elizabeth Simmons greet scholarship winner and Monomoy student Kathryn Nash. Photo by Bill McClellan