Return to Headlines

Monomoy Regional High School celebrates unique graduation ceremony for the Class of 2020

While the Monomoy Regional High School Class of 2020 were not able to enjoy the traditional graduation ceremony surrounded by family and loved ones as in past years, due to restrictions on gatherings put in place to protect residents from COVID-19, students were able to mark the occasion with their classmates on the high school grounds. 

The MRHS graduation ceremony for the Class of 2020 was held Tuesday, June 23, 2020, at 8 p.m. The ceremony was open to the graduates only, with families and community members encouraged to watch the livestream of the event from the comfort and safety of their homes. There were social distancing protocols in place for the students, and all students were required to wear a mask during the ceremony. This plan was created after listening to feedback from students and families, and in accordance with town officials and state and local public health guidelines. 

Prior to the start of the graduation ceremony, students in the MRHS Class of 2020 participated in a vehicle processional, traveling from Chatham to Harwich and ending at Monomoy Regional High School shortly prior to the start of the ceremony, cheered on along the way by family, friends, and community members, and led by Harwich Police and Fire and Chatham Police and Fire Departments.

During the graduation ceremony, scholarship awards were also announced. Thanks to the support of a number of local businesses and organizations, Monomoy students were awarded more than $366,000 in scholarship funds. 

Following welcoming remarks from Class President Rory Carpenter and Principal Bill Burkhead and the National Anthem by members of the MRHS Choral Ensemble, students heard addresses from Superintendent Dr. Scott Carpenter, School Committee Chairperson Jackie Zibrat-Long, and Valedictorian Lillian Ryan. All were prerecorded and shown on the big screen and livestream. 

Each year, the senior class honors teachers who have made an impact on them with Reflection Awards. This years honorees, and the students who presented the awards, were: CES - Karen Widegren, Jenna Greco & Kaitlyn Lyons; HES - Janet Smithers, Abigail Tyldesley; MRMS - Alice Fabia, Noah Concordia; MRHS - Mary Hemeon, Jack Archibald; MRHS - Kevin Bates, Jaymie Buffington, Julie Slade, & Lillian Ryan. 

The Ad Lucem awards are a Monomoy tradition given to those who are a positive role model that demonstrates integrity, compassion, and empathy for others; demonstrate outstanding commitment and service to the school that motivates others to get involved; and selflessly contributes to the school’s culture. The 2020 Ad Lucem award winners were: Female Student: Emma Santoni; Male Student: Liam Mawn; Faculty: Jennifer Police; Staff: Jonathan Randall; Community Members: Ed McManus and David Whitcomb; Parent of Senior: Kathy Currie and Simon Evans.

The Brooks Medal, which was established in 1887 and honors students who are “most proficient in composition and letter writing, and most excellent of behavior,” was awarded to Milagra Bologna.

The Shayne Luciano/Principal’s Award was presented to Emma Santoni, students attending military academies and entering military service were honored, and the Scholar Athletes were Josh Poitras and Kaitlyn Lyons.

Congratulations to the Monomoy Regional High School Class of 2020!

Jack Wallace Archibald

Sarah Anderson Babb

Jah-Fari Immanuel Ball

Ava Marie Barbella-Ranello

Sage Kathleen Barnes

Alison Brooke Barrett

Ethan Geoffrey Beach

Elijah Christopher Beasley

Jenna Lynne Beebe

Sarah Elizabeth Blake

Milagra Esperanza Bologna

Hayden Bowman

Kathryn Elizabeth Brackett

Laura Qinliju Hooper Brown

Jaymie Hannah Buffington

Brant Campbell Butcher

Rory Joseph Carpenter

Hayden Rivers Casterlin

Yodaurys Castro

Mollie Rose Charest

Samuel Joseph Chase

Ashley Grace Coady

Kenneth John Cohrs III

Noah John Concordia

Coleen Marie Connaughton

Joseph Hugh Cottle

Tyler Kelly Crossen

Jessica Fauna Currie

Dylan James Delaney

Joseph Michael DeMango

Margrette Jorgen Dery

Connor Gene Deveau

Kayla Anne Dittrich

Drew Clifton Edson

Parker James Ellerbeck

Jade Simone Enos

Holly Elizabeth Evans

Rory Edward Farris

Maria Eduarda Azambuja Fidencio

Isaiah Richard Flanagan

Christiana Elizabeth Fontaine

Kyle Alexander Gabri

Lucas Paul Garneau

Kaitlyn Riley Germann

Jillian Lee Gomes

Cassidy Anne Goodwin

Tyler Branden Gorman

Sean David Gould

Jenna Elizabeth Greco

Jared Paul Gula

Kate Elizabeth Hall

Marcus Thane Harrington

Olivia Michelle Hart

Lillie Elizabeth Hayward

Michael Jonathan Hemeon

Shannen Sky Holbrook

Alexander Jerome Houser

Ashley Lynn Hunt

Travis Joel James

Abigail Conceicao Jason

Lheissah Christine Jean-Jacques

Kayla Marie Freesia Jolibois

Deacon Blaze Kautz

Abigail May Kelley

Hayden John Kluza

Caraline Elizabeth LaBelle

Alyssa Christine Lyons

Kaitlyn Elizabeth Lyons

Lindsay Mei Xia Zimmerman Macdonald

David Michael Malone

Danielle Marie Martin

Ross Macdonald Martin III

Liam Everett Mawn

Chantal Mecilkea McInnis

Lara Alexandra McNeely

Tony Alphonso Medaglia

Ryan Thomas Meehan

Lindsey Christine Mellett

Jason David Morrison

Nicholas Charles Needham

Kelsey Elizabeth Olson

Lucy Jean Owen

Zachary Charles Parker

Alexandra Catherine Payne

Joshua David Poitras

Christopher Michael Polack

Kathleen Frances Prescott

William Kenneth Ramos

Jason William Ready

Paul Kun Kee Reece

Kolbe Ryanne Rocha

Jamie Drew Routhier

Trevor Loedel Russell

Lillian Rose Ryan

Emma Danielle Santoni

Mitchell Garrison Schaub

Nicole Elizabeth Sequin

Ashlee Sophia Monique Shuemaker

Annabelle Rose Sims

Julie Nicole Slade

Owen Timothy Smith

Zackary Jacob Smith

George Michael Spalt

Elizabeth Perry Sprout

Eli Howard Stafford

Abigail Elizabeth Starkweather

Daniel McNeil Street

Emma Dorothy Sullivan

Abigail Freeman Tyldesley

Beckett Christopher Van Essendelft

Matthew Velasquez

Jodi Raine Wahtola

Ryan Michael Walsh

Adam Franklin Wheeler

Alrick Anthony Williams

Brandon Lawrence Willis

Steven Allen Young

Harrison Peter Yuskaitis

Jason Basil Zaloom